2014 Swiss Cup Teams Announced

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 7.38.59 PM

The field has been announced for this year’s Swiss Cup, to be held November 2 at the Hallenstadion in Zürich, Switzerland.

The competition is a bit different than most elite gymnastics meets, as the gymnasts compete on mixed pair teams and don’t follow the traditional rotational order you’ll see at any other competition. Instead, there are rounds: prelims, semi-finals, and finals. For each round, the teams can choose which event they’d like to compete, and the scores combine to make up the team total.

Teams are eliminated after each round so that only four remain in the final, where the scores start over from zero. The team that earns the highest combined score in the final is named the winner.

For the third year in a row, Swiss superstar Giulia Steingruber headlines the field alongside Claudio Capelli. The pair earned silver in 2012 and bronze in 2013, and are hoping the third time will be a charm for the gold medal this year.

The full team lineup includes:

Switzerland 1 Giulia Steingruber Claudio Capelli
Switzerland 2 Ilaria Käslin Pascal Bucher
Brazil Daniele Hypolito Caio Campos Souza
Germany Elisabeth Seitz Fabien Hambüchen
Italy Vanessa Ferrari Andrea Cingolani
Japan Mai Murakami Kenzo Shirai
Ukraine Angelina Kysla Oleg Verniaiev

The competition will begin at 11:30 am local time. Tickets are available on TicketCorner.

Article by Lauren Hopkins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s