Australia Names World Championships Team


Olivia Vivian

After a ten-day selection camp, Australia has announced the team selected to compete at the 2014 World Championships in Nanning, China.

Ten athletes were invited to the selection camp and eight were formally named to the team, including the entire 2014 Commonwealth Games squad: Georgia-Rose Brown, bars silver medalist and 2012 Olympian Larrissa Miller, floor silver medalist and two-time Olympian Lauren Mitchell, beam silver medalist Mary-Anne Monckton, and 2008 Olympian Olivia Vivian.

The remaining spots went to Kiara Munteanu and Emma Jane Nedov. The alternate will be decided among these seven, while 2012 Olympian Emily Little – recently back in competition for the first time in two years – was named non-traveling reserve.

Georgia Godwin, the 2014 Australian national champion, was not selected. According to the Australian Gymnastics Blog, she had petitioned through to the camp after coming back from injury and likely was not up to par for international competition.

The Australian women are probably the most internationally experienced team we’ll see in Nanning, with most of their athletes in their early 20s. However, they’ll be up against really strong teams from Italy, Germany, and Great Britain (who recently defeated them in Glasgow) and will really have to fight to earn a spot in the team final.

Article by Lauren Hopkins

One thought on “Australia Names World Championships Team

  1. Pingback: World Championship Team Master List | The Gymternet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s